Signature of care to define patient safety and clinical quality across YNHHS

"Why should care be any different in any of our delivery networks?" That's the question Marna Borgstrom, YNHHS president and CEO, asked the more than 800 employees at the 2016 Joseph A. Zaccagnino Patient Safety and Clinical Quality Conference May 24, at Webster Bank Arena.

"People expect to get the best of care and assume they will be safe from harm in a complex healthcare environment," she said. "We share those expectations. Everything we do is to advance clinical care and safety for every person who comes in contact with us."

Given improvements in patient care and safety throughout the system, Borgstrom referred to establishing a "signature of care" that would define consistent expectations and standards across delivery networks and NEMG.

 Alan Kliger, MD, YNHHS senior vice president and chief quality officer, Medical Affairs, added that even with improvement, "we still have a substantial challenge in continuing on our high reliability journey and hardwiring practices to make them a part of what we do every day." He stressed the importance of learning the "why" behind medical errors and improving how healthcare providers communicate medical errors to patients and families.

The annual conference brings people from every corner of the system to share best practices and learn from others' experiences in patient safety and clinical quality. This year's conference included 188 poster abstracts representing teams at Bridgeport, Greenwich and Yale New Haven hospitals, NEMG and YNHHS.

The overall award went to the Yale New Haven Hospital team for "Breaking the Barriers to 11 am Discharge on EP 9-5."
JAZ conference

Overall conference Award

The YNHH team winning the overall conference award included, front row, l-r: Alyssa Ramos, RN; Patricia Thompson, RN; Merceditas Villanueva, MD; Danielle Struble, RN; Marc Tangredi, RN; Lauren O'Donnell, RN; and Courtney Acker, RN. Back row, l-r: Richard Papa, RN; Tanielle Norris; Pam Gona, RN; Iris Zollarcoffer, RN; Jessica Cruz, RN; Stephanie Krasinski, RN; Megan Richetelli, RN; and Sue Fitzsimons, RN, PhD.

JAZ conference

Yale New Haven Children's Hospital

Representing the award-winning team that worked to reduce CAUTIs in Yale New Haven Children's Hospital were, l-r: Laura Edwards, RN; Rebecca Ciaburri, RN; and Sue Fitzsimons, RN, PhD.

JAZ conference

Yale New Haven Health System

"Using Transparency to Decrease CT Utilization in YNHHS EDs," earned the delivery network award for Yale New Haven Health System. From left are: Devon Bushey; Mark Silvestri, MD; and Alan Kliger, MD, senior vice president, chief quality officer, Medical Affairs.

JAZ conference

Network award winner

A second network winner award went to the team that worked to eliminate CAUTIs in the SICU. Front row, l-r, are: Patricia Msadoques, RN; Alison Venditti, RN; Nicole Colandrea; Lisa Marks, RN; and Roger Albornoz, RN. Back row, l-r: Diana-Lynn Schaible, RN; Michael Consiglio, RN; Rita-Marie Rossetti, RN; Annalisa Porter, RN; Sue Fitzsimons, RN, PhD; Jeannette Bronsord, RN; and Ena Williams, RN.